A Discourse of Desire

A Discourse of Desire
“If I leave everything in your hands…”

If I leave everything in your hands…
What then would my life be?
No longer would my will prevail
Your dwelling within
Would begin to shine.

If I leave everything in your hands…
Does my value then decrease?
Becoming invisible to friend and
Foe alike, seen – and yet not seen, while
Human comforts depart from my life.

If I leave everything in your hands…
Against what shall I struggle?
Maybe all my doings and thinkings,
Will fall by the wayside, and I might
Be stripped and left bare.

If I leave everything in your hands…
Might not the stench of sin depart?
The odor of failures, the hashing out of
Words – opinions – mine versus theirs.
Leaving the pure fragrance of mountain air.

20160506_145852

If I leave everything in your hands…
What then would my life be?
Surely, it would transform into something
Not of this world; something simple, humble,
Pleasing not only to man, but to You, whom I love.

If I leave everything in your hands…
Then I would be free – I would
Become Your slave.
Help me…
Leave everything…
In your hands…

Leave a Reply

